

ACCG  $8^{th}$  and  $10^{th}$  District Meeting Thursday, November 10, 2016 Registration and networking will begin at 3:30 p.m. Meeting begins at 4:30 pm.

Dawson County Club 581 Graves Road SW (US Hwy 82/GA Hwy 50), Dawson, Terrell County, GA

Celebrating the Public Service of Terrell County Chairman Wilbur Gamble, 1/1/1969 -12/31/2016, 48 Years of Consecutive Service!



Terrell County Courthouse, circa 1892

### -AGENDA-

**Welcome and Introductions:** ACCG District 8 and 10 Representatives Randy Howard, Sumter County, and Roger Lane, Seminole County

Welcome from ACCG: Executive Director Ross King

Welcome from the ACCG Board of Managers: ACCG President/ Elbert County Commission Chair, Tommy Lyon

**Legislative Town Hall Meeting** 

## **2017 Legislative Priorities**

ACCG Associate Legislative Directors Debra Nesbit & Legislative Associate Brad Vaughan

- ACCG's Legislative Priorities for the 2017 Session
  - o Modernizing E-911 Funding and Collections
  - Tax Reforms
    - Georgia Agricultural Tax Exemption
    - Title Ad Valorem Tax
    - Property Tax Reforms
  - Single County Transportation Sales Tax

#### -AGENDA-

## **Staff Updates**

- GASB 77
- Changes to the Fair Labor Standards Act

## Celebrating the Public Service of Terrell County Chairman Wilbur Gamble, 1/1/1969 -12/31/2016

• Ross King and guest speakers

### **Dinner**

# **Special thanks to today's meeting sponsors:**



Formed from portions of Randolph and Lee counties on February 16, 1856, by an act of the Georgia General Assembly, Terrell County is named for Dr. William Terrell (1778–1855) of Sparta, Georgia, who served in the Georgia General Assembly and the United States House of Representatives. Approximately 337 square miles in size, the county had a population of 9,315 in the 2010 Census. The county's highest recorded population was 22,003 in the 1910 Census.

The present Terrell County Courthouse was built in 1892 and was first renovated in 1936. More recently, a \$2.1 million renovation was completed in 2009. Designed by W. H. Parkins, the structure is a "high" Victorian facility.

Terrell County has four towns: Dawson (county seat) Bronwood, Sasser and Parrott.

