Call for Nominations: 2023 ACCG Awards & Recognition Program

The ACCG Awards & Recognition Program serves as a way to recognize the individuals who provide outstanding contributions to their local community. The association also works with the Georgia County Clerks' Association to present the County Clerk of the Year Award.

The ACCG Leadership Awards – Emory Greene and Jerry R. Griffin Excellence in Public Service awards - are the highest honors given to elected or appointed county officials or other individuals who have made significant contributions through public service in local government and other involvement within the community and/or the state level. An overview of each award can be found here.

For both the Emory Greene Leadership Award & the Jerry R. Griffin Excellence in Public Service Award, if the nominee is a county government official, all nomination forms must be signed by the county chairman. If the chairman is the nominee, nomination forms must be signed by the county manager/administrator or clerk. 

Note: If your word count exceeds the space on the application, please write answers on a separate word document.

Section Awards

Clerk of the Year nominations must be submitted to the Georgia County Clerks' Association awards selection committee - see the clerks' application for details. 
The application deadline is Friday, March 3. No late entries will be accepted. Completed forms may be submitted to Nicole Butler via email at [email protected] OR scanned as a fax to (404) 525-2477 Attn:  Nicole Butler. Nominations may also be mailed to:

2023 ACCG Leadership Awards

c/o Nicole Butler, Communications Coordinator

191 Peachtree Street NE, Suite 700

Atlanta, GA 30303

As an alternative to the traditional paper application, counties can submit a video nomination for this year’s awards. Video nominations may include more than one person in the county office of the nominee and must still answer the questions on the nomination form. For example, this method may be used if several people in a county commissioner’s office have testimonials about efforts the nominee has made to improve their community. Videos must be no longer than five minutes in length and can be submitted via the online application or as an email attachment.