Southwest Georgia Regional Commission

Suzanne Angell
P.O. Box 346
Camilla, GA 31730

Phone: 229.522.3558
Email: [email protected]

Southwest Georgia Regional Commission consists of the 14 counties and the 43 cities located in Baker, Calhoun, Colquitt, Decatur, Dougherty, Early, Grady, Lee, Miller, Mitchell, Seminole, Terrell, Thomas and Worth Counties. Total estimated population in 2017 was approximately 348,300 and covers over 8,000 square miles. The Southwest Georgia Regional Commission (RC), as was its predecessors, the APDC (Area Planning and Development Commission), and the Regional Development Center (RDC), is an extension of local governments and to some extent, the local development groups in the respective communities. The RC’s sole purpose is to assist and complement local jurisdictions by responding to their needs and assist in accomplishing goals in and for the communities. The RC is advisory in nature in that it has no official powers. It can only provide recommendations and assistance of various types, which can be accepted or rejected by the individual community.